newest entry older entries

December 19, 2003 - 11:55 p.m.

Can you get carpal tunnel from knitting?

This one is getting in just under the wire, again, but, damn. I've been a crafting fool today.

Well, actually, I started the day as a hungover fool who had to be up and coherent by 7 a.m. for a call with a potential East Coast client. Do East Coast clients know, when they suggest a 10 a.m. (or, God forbid, a 9 a.m.) call, exactly what that means for the West Coast participants? Is it some sort of test? Is subtracting by three really that hard, even if you're in marketing?

Oh, marketing people, I kid, I kid.

The call lasted all of seven minutes, during which time she told me that she'd actually found someone else to do the specific writing job I was supposed to discuss with her today, but that she'd love to see my resume and get a sample bid from me in case any future work comes up.

I believe this is something that she could have told me at noon, don't you agree?

Anyway, I promised to get her the promised materials and promptly fell into bed again for a few more hours.

Last night was a dinner out with the girls, a dinner that involved, I think, four bottles of wine for five of us and some truffled mashed potatoes. The potatoes had nothing to do with my hangover; they were just yummy. I begged off of the planned karaoke excursion because I knew I had this call and I knew I had to craft my ass off today if I want to mail everything tomorrow.

And I'd like to interject here that if "Craft Your Ass Off" isn't the name of the next OutKast single, then we need to question just who we are and where we're headed as a country.

I think I might be done. There's one thing I'm knitting for someone who might be reading this journal, so I don't want to go into too much detail but ... well, it might not be arriving until after Christmas. I need to reassess the situation when I get up tomorrow. I was starting to fall asleep while working on the project, which, when needles are involved, is never a good idea.

The good news -- and I know you'll be relieved to hear this -- is that I got all the beading done on some other projects, so now I just have to get up tomorrow and wrap everything and go wait in line at the post office and try not to kill anyone while I'm there.

Then it's a weekend of drinking with Internet friends (yay!), and then, THEN I start on the presents for the people with whom I'm actually spending Christmas day.

Pray for me.

previous - next


about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!