newest entry older entries

December 22, 2003 - 11:49 p.m.

Blackout and booze

I don't usually do the making fun of headlines thing. It's a little too Jay Leno for my tastes. But, c'mon San Francisco Chronicle. "Blackout Puts SF in the Dark"? As opposed to what? Bathing us in light? Blinding us with its shimmery brilliance?

So, yeah, I survived the Last Great Blackout of 2003. The lights were out when I got home Saturday night from a lovely Threeway Action gathering. But luckily, one of my roommates had left some candles and matches out where they were easy to find.

Which was good, because I had to get ready to go out and drink with some folks from The Usual Suspects. (Yep. This weekend was All About the Internet.) After calling the Tenderloin bar where we planned to meet to ascertain that, yes, it had power and was open, I lit some more candles and did what I could to make myself pretty.

And you know, I think I'm going to do my makeup by candlelight from now on. It may have been startling to people who actually had to witness me in direct light, but it was damn good for my ego. Forget The Soap -- soft lighting is the key to good skin. Just carry a candle around with you. It's cheaper.

I've actually been putting off writing about the weekend because I had such a great time that I'm not sure I can do it justice. Also, the copious amounts of alcohol made it really hard to type.

Ro and Nick graciously opened their home and provided frightening amounts of great food. When I left, Ro gave me approximately 375 lemons from their tree. I don't bake much, but I figured I could use them up by making lemon bars. Lemons bars are delicious! Lemon bars are supposedly easy!

Lemon bars use one lemon per batch.

I'm going to need some more ideas.

Boozecon was, as the name implies, a hell of a lot of fun. In fact, it was two nights of a hell of a lot of fun. There was bourbon, lots of great conversation, and pretty, pretty people. I got to meet a bunch of cool new folks, see Meg for the first time since Austin, and unwittingly help get Beth drunk.

I'd call that downright efficient.

Oh, and if I missed anyone in the linkage up there, it's because I'm lame and can't find your site in my current bleary-eyed state. I most certainly don't want to get all gooey here, but I didn't meet anyone this weekend who wasn't really funny and cool. How often can one say that?

previous - next


about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!